Department of Agricultural Research and Technical Services (DARTS)

  Grain Legumes, Oilseeds and Fibres Commodity Group

  The Grain legumes, Oilseeds and Fibres Commodity Group consists of three Commodity Teams: 

The crops under this group include groundnut, common bean, cotton, sisal , kenaf, jute, sunflower, sesame, castor oil bean, bambara groundnut, gardenpea, chickpea, velvet bean, lentils, dolichos bean, mungbean, lima bean, faba bean, winged bean, cowpea, pigeonpea, soybean and bean. The group focuses its research activities on the development of cultivars that have the characteristics desired by the end users; development of appropriate crop management practices, and the assessment of yield losses caused by pests and diseases.

Research on all these commodities is coordinated from Chitedze, except for fibre crops, where the research is coordinated from Makoka Experiment Station. This commodity group works in close collaboration with the SADC/ICRISAT groundnut and pigeon pea team at Chitedze, and CIAT on common bean.


  Know DARTS | Research Programme & Advisory Services| Research Stations | Information Services & Publications | Collaborative partners  | DARTS home page |   

 Copyright 2002 DARTS  - All rights reserved worldwide. 
Comments? Email: Webmaster  Last Modified :

Thank you for visiting the DARTS Website