Department of Agricultural Research and Technical Services (DARTS)

  Cereals Commodity Group

   The Cereals Commodity Group consists of three Commodity Teams: 

 The programme is coordinated from Chitedze Research Station. Research on maize is based at Chitedze, that for rice at Lifuwu, whereas sorghum and millets are based at Kasinthula Experimental Stations. The cereals group focuses on breeding varieties for specific agro-ecological environments; breeding varieities that are tolerant to major diseases and pests; developing crop management technologies; developing site-specific recommendations for fertilizer application and developing technologies for improved utilization of cereals. This group has very strong collaborative programmes with CIMMYT, ICRISAT, IRRI, and the Rockefeller Foundation.


  Know DARTS | Research Programme & Advisory Services| Research Stations | Information Services & Publications | Collaborative partners  | DARTS home page |   

 Copyright 2001 DARTS  - All rights reserved worldwide. 
Comments? Email: Webmaster  Last Modified :

Thank you for visiting the DARTS Website