The following is the Malawi Cabinet of 13 June 2004. Principal secretaries to head the ministries were appointed by the President effective on 1 August 2004, and a full list, as released by the Chief Secretary for the Civil Service on 5 August 2004, is available here.

Cabinet Ministers
Minister Notes
1 Defence and Civil Service Bingu wa Muntharika, Dr President, UDF
2 Statutory Corporations Casim Chilumpha, Dr Vice President, UDF, Lawyer
3 Agriculture, Irrigation and Food Security Chakufwa Chihana, Hon. Dr AFORD, MP Rumphi Central
4 Finance Goodal Gondwe Econ. Adviser in prev. govt, IMF, WB
5 Economic Planning and Development David Faiti RP, MP Chikwawa Central
6 Foreign Affairs George Chaponda, Dr UDF
7 Justice and Constitutional Affairs Henry Phoya UDF, MP Blantyre Rural East, Lawyer
8 Industry, Science and Technology Khumbo Chirwa RP, MP Nkhata Bay South East
9 Home Affairs and Internal Security Uladi Mussa UDF, MP Salima South
10 Trade and Private Sector Development Eunice Kazembe UDF, former diplomat
11 Education and Human Resources Yusuf Mwawa UDF, MP Balaka Centra East
12 Transport and Public Works Henry Mussa UDF, MP Chiradzulu East
13 Lands, Housing and Surveys Bazuka Mhango RP, MP Karonga North West, Lawyer
14 Local Government and Rural Development Jaffali Mussa UDF, MP Machinga East
15 Information, Communications and Tourism Ken Lipenga, Dr UDF, MP Phalombe East
16 Labour and Vocational Training Lilian Patel UDF, MP Mangochi South
17 Health Hetherwick Ntaba, Dr NCD
18 Mines, Natural Resources and Environment Davis Katsonga UDF, MP Mwanza Central
19 Youth, Sports and Culture Henry Chimunthu Banda UDF, MP Nkhotakota North
20 Women, Child Welfare and Community Services Joyce Banda UDF, MP Zomba Malosa
21 Social Development and Persons with Disabilities Clement Chiwaya UDF, MP Mangochi Central
Deputy Ministers
22 Health Frank Mwenefumbo AFORD, MP Karonga Central
23 Education and Human Resources Anna Kachiko Independent, MP Phalombe North
24 Transport and Public Works Roy Commsy UDF, MP Thyolo South West
25 Industry, Science and Technology Elvy Mtafu UDF, MP Mulanje Bale
26 Local Governemnet and Rural Development Patricia Kaliati UDF, MP Mulanje West
27 Mines, Natural Resources and Environment Bob Khamisa UDF, MP Thyolo Central
28 Information, Communications and Tourism Henry Mumba MGODE, MP Mzimba Hora
29 Agriculture Sidik Mia UDF, MP Chikwawa Nkombezi