President Bingu wa Mutharika appointed new principal secretaries on 5 August 2004.
The number has been significantly reduced from the 57 in the previous government. The whole
list is as follows

1 Chief Secretary for the Public Service Mr Charles Matabwa
2 Chief Secretary to President and Cabinet Mr Bright Msaka
3 Office of President and Cabinet (Administration) Mr. Mike Matola
4 Office of President and Cabinet (Finance) Mr. S.B. Mwenye
5 Economic Planning and Development (EP+D) Mr. Patrick Kamwendo
6 Secretary to the Treasury Mr. Milton Kutengule
7 Agriculture Dr A.T. Daudi
8 Irrigation & Food Security Mr. Joseph Matope
9 Labour and Vocational Training Mr. Martin Mononga
10 Health and Population Dr. Richard Pendame
11 Transport and Public Works Mr. Francis Chinsinga
12 Information and Communications Ms. Hawa Ndilowe
13 Tourism Mr. Moffat  Chitimbe
14 Statutory Corporations Dr. Chrissie Mwiyeriwa
15 Education Mr. Simeon  Hau
16 Justice and Constitutional Affairs Mr. Steve Matenje
17 Foreign Affairs Mr. Lucius  Chikuni
18 Defence Mr. S.D. Kalirangwe
19 Human Resources Development Mr. Samuel Madula
20 Poverty Alleviation Mr. H. Kabambe
21 Water Development Mr. Beaton Munthali
22 Disaster Preparedness and Relief Mr. Radson Mwadiwa
23 Mines, Natural Resources & Environment Mr.Thaise Odala

Trade and Private Sector Development  
24 Trade: Mr. Newby Kumwembe
25 Private Sector Devt: Mr. Patrick Kachimera
26 Nutrition and HIV/Aids Ms. Mary Shawa
27 Lands, Housing & Surveys Mr. George Mkondiwa

Industry, Science & Technology  
28 Industry: Mr. Grain Malunga
29 Science &Technology: Ms. Adrina Mchiela

Local Government and Rural Devt.  
30 Local Government: Mr. Charles Gunsalu
31 Rural Development:
Mr. Willie Samute
32 Youth and Sports Ms. Hanna Kawalewale
33 Gender, Child welfare and Community Devt. Ms. Bessie Kumangirana
34 Social Devt. & Persons with Disabilities Mr. Elias Ngongondo
35 Home Affairs and Internal Security Mr. P.C. Msosa
36 Accountat General Mr. Rex Kampanje
37 Director of Budget J.N. Mphande
38 Director of Public Events Mr. H.A. Juwa
39 Director of Public Procurement Mr. Brian Mangulama

The new appointments became effective on August 1, 2004